6th meeting of the expert panel to contemplate

a new electoral system for South Africa

16 November 2020

Zoom Panel Discussion

The 6th meeting of the Inclusive Society Institute’s expert panel on electoral reform met on Monday afternoon, 16 November 2020.


In previous meetings, the panel considered presentations by international experts on proportional representation electoral models abroad, and proposals by panellists on potential electoral models for South Africa. Sufficient agreement was reached for the institute to move forward with a modelling exercise. Meetings of the panel were paused to allow for the modelling to be completed.


With the exercise completed, the panel was reconvened to consider its outcome. The meeting received a presentation on the outcome, and discussed outstanding elements identified at previous meetings and as a result of the exercise.


In moving towards closure, the panel will, at its next meeting, consider recommendations to be made to policymakers on the institute’s proposed way forward with regard to the most appropriate electoral system for South Africa. The model to be proposed by the institute aims to give effect to the Constitutional Court’s judgement requiring the Electoral Act to be amended in order to allow for independent candidates to participate in national and provincial elections, and, which will, simultaneously help in strengthening the country’s democratic dispensation.



Mr. Roelf Meyer

In Transformation Initiative

Chief Government negotiator during the democratic transition in South Africa, former Minister of Constitutional Development, and currently a director of the In Transformation Initiative

deyana isaacs.JPG


Ms. Deyana Isaacs

University of Stellenbosch

She undertakes research and lectures Political Governance at the School of Public Leadership, University of Stellenbosch.

dirk kotzw.JPG


Prof. Dirk Kotze

University of South Africa

Professor in Political Sciences at the University of South Africa (UNISA). He serves as one of the vice-presidents for of the International Political Science Association and the National Secretary of the South African Association of Political Studies.

william gumede.JPG


Prof. William Gumede

University of the Witwatersrand & Democracy Works

Professor at the University of the Witwatersrand School of Governance and Chairperson of Democracy Works Foundation.



Mr. Ebrahim Fakir

Auwil Socio-Economic Research Institute

Political commentator and Director of Programs at Auwil Socio-Economic Research Institute. Former  academic, head of political parties and parliamentary programme at EISA, visiting fellow at the Institute for Development Studies @ University of Essex, and visiting Drapre Hills Summer Fellow @ Stanford University.



Ms. Dren Nupen

Elexions Agency

Former Executive Director of the Electoral Institute of Southern Africa and former Regional Director for Africa at the Open Society Initiative. She brings extensive election experience to the dialogue.


Prof. Firoz Cachalia

University of the Witwatersrand

Professor at the Law School at the University of the Witwatersrand.



Prof. Jorgen Elklit

Aarhus University, Denmark

Current academic convenor of Aarhus University’s yearly MatchPoints seminar. He is a previous member of the South African Independent Electoral Commission, responsible for the conduct of the 1994 South African Parliamentary and Provincial Elections and secretary to the Independent Review Commission.


Prof. Cherrel Africa


University of the Western Cape

Formerly she worked at the Institute for Democracy in South Africa and has since joined the University of the Western Cape as the associate professor and chair for political sciences. She is an elections expert and experienced public commentator. She also served as an election analyst for the SABC and ENCA.



Prof. Rassie Malherbe

University of Cape Town

He currently offers an extra-curricular programme in the drafting of legislation at the University of Cape Town. He is a former professor of public law and Head of the Department of Public Law at the University of Johannesburg. He was involved in the constitution-making process in the nineties and still advises government institutions on legislative issues.

grant masterson.JPG

Mr. Grant Masterson

stood in on behalf of

Dr. Denis Kadima

Electoral Institute of Southern Africa

Dr. Kadima is the current Executive Director of EISA. He previously worked for the National Democratic Institute for international Affairs as the Senior Programme Manager.



Dr. Brigalia Bam


Former Chairperson of the Independent Elections Commission of South Africa